Warner Bros. TV Group And NAACP Announce $100,000 ‘All American: Homecoming’ HBCU Scholarship

The Grand Slam Scholarship will be awarded to 10 students.

HBCU students are being given the chance to win $100,000 in scholarship money, thanks to Warner Bros. Television Group and NAACP. As reported by Variety, the two organizations have banded together to create a scholarship to support HBCU students inspired by The CW’s newest series “All American: Homecoming,” a spinoff of the WBTV/The CW drama “All American.”

Titled the ‘Grand Slam Scholarship,’ the NAACP and WBTVG will award $100,000 in grants to 10 students, $10,000 per scholarship, pursuing degrees at various HBCU institutions throughout the United States. The scholarship’s announcement was originally made Wednesday, February 23 during an “All American: Homecoming” panel hosted by the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA).

“We are thrilled to partner with the NAACP on the ‘All American: Homecoming’ scholarship, which will provide financial support to students at HBCUs as they pursue their dreams through education,” read Warner Bros. Television Group chairman Channing Dungey’s statement to Variety. “And we are also excited to celebrate the dynamic on-screen depiction of HBCU life at Bringston University in this powerful new show from Nkechi Okoro Carroll and Berlanti Productions.”

“One of the proudest days of my career. Honored to have worked with my teammates at @warnerbrostv and the team at @NAACP to bring these scholarships to HBCU students.,” tweeted Evan Seymour, Warner Bros. Television Group’s Director of Publicity and proud Spelman College alumna. “Like I always say, this work is so much more than a job to me.”

The spinoff show will star Geffri Maya as young Simone while she attends the fictional Bringston University. In an attempt to leave behind her Beverly Hills background to take her tennis career to the next level, Simone is in for a one-of-a-kind HBCU experience at the Atlanta school. “All American: Homecoming” cast members include Peyton Alex Smith, Kelly Jenrette, Cory Hardrict, Sylvester Powell, Camille Hyde, and Netta Walker.

All HBCU students are eligible and the application process begins early March 2022. Additional information can be found on the NAACP’s website. While you wait for the scholarship applications to open, catch the official All American: Homecoming trailer below, courtesy of The CW. “All American: Homecoming” airs Mondays at 9 p.m. ET /8 p.m. CT on The CW.

Photo Credit: The CW

View More